10% off at checkout:
Back to blog

CursorClip Blog

One-Time Purchase Screen Recorders for Mac (2026): Pay Once, No Subscription

Every Mac screen recorder you can still buy once, compared on price, how many Macs one license covers, how long updates last and the refund window. Rival prices checked 27 October 2026.

By Surya Updated 14 min read
Screen recording Comparison Mac apps Pricing Lifetime license
Mac Screen Recorders You Can Buy Once, no subscription: a stack of cards badged 9, apps compared

Quick answer: you can still buy a good Mac screen recorder once and own it. CursorClip is $70 once, no renewal: less than 3 months of Screen Studio’s $29 monthly plan, on up to three Macs, with core-app updates included and a 14-day money-back guarantee. It zooms in on what you click as you record, and it is free to record and edit before you pay to export. If you only want the lowest one-time price, CleanShot X Basic ($35), Cap ($58) and AutoZoom ($69) cost less, and this page says where each one is the better buy.

Free to record and edit. To export: from $9/month, or $70 once with no renewal, plus tax where applicable.

Free to record and edit. A license to export.

Jump to: Every pay-once recorder · Lifetime vs subscription · What “lifetime” covers · The picks · Not sold once · November offers · How to choose

A search for “screen recorder no subscription” mostly turns up browser tools and phone apps. This page is the other thing: Mac apps you can pay for one time, with the details that decide whether “one time” really means once. Every rival price, plan and policy below comes from that company’s own site, read on 27 October 2026. Prices are in US dollars, before any tax your country adds.

Every Mac screen recorder you can buy once

AppOne-time priceWhat one license coversUpdatesRefundAlso sold as a subscription
CursorClip$70 once, no renewalUp to 3 MacsFuture core-app updates included14 daysYes ($29 a year), never required
CleanShot X Basic$35One Mac; more seats cost more1 year, then $19 a year if you want new versions30 daysYes (Pro, $10 per user a month billed yearly)
Cap (desktop license)$58, “a license that never renews”One userNot stated on its pricing pageNot stated on its pricing pageYes ($29 a year)
AutoZoom$69Up to 3 devices (Mac or Windows)“All future updates”Not stated on its homepageYes ($7.99 a month)
Cursorful Pro$79 during its V2 launch discount (regular $119)1 user, 2 desktop devices (Mac or Windows)Lifetime access to current and future offline featuresNot stated on its homepageNo
Screen Charm$99 (its page lists $149 as the regular price)Up to 3 MacsLifetime updates14 daysNo
ScreenKite Pro$99.99 regular (its page listed a $79.99 founder price until 31 October 2026)3 MacsNot stated for Pro14 daysNo
ScreenFlow$199Not stated on its store pageNot stated; Premium Support adds 25% off future upgradesNot stated on its store pageAdd-ons only (stock media, support)
FocuSee Advanced (one-time)$199.99Up to 5 computers (Mac or Windows)Version 2.x only; the next major version is a paid upgrade60 daysYes (from $49.99 a year)

Rival details from each vendor’s pricing, buy or home page, read 27 October 2026. CleanShot X’s one-Mac seat count is from its buy page on 14 October 2026; on 27 October its pages named no seat count. CursorClip details from the /pricing/ page and CursorClip 2.1.0.

Three things stand out. First, 3 apps cost less once than CursorClip: CleanShot X Basic ($35), Cap ($58) and AutoZoom ($69). Second, the number of Macs differs more than the price does: one Mac for CleanShot X Basic and one user for Cap, against three for CursorClip, Screen Charm, ScreenKite Pro and AutoZoom. Third, “updates” ranges from one year to forever, which matters more than a small price gap if you plan to keep the app for years.

Pay once vs subscription over 1 to 5 years

The case for paying once is simple: the price stops. Here is what the common subscriptions add up to against one CursorClip lifetime license.

Plan1 year2 years3 years5 years
CursorClip lifetime, paid once$70$70$70$70
Screen Studio, monthly$348$696$1,044$1,740
CleanShot X Pro (billed yearly)$120$240$360$600
Screen Studio, yearly$108$216$324$540
FocuSee Advanced, yearly$79.99$159.98$239.97$399.95
Cap desktop, yearly$29$58$87$145

Subscription prices from each vendor’s pricing page, 27 October 2026. Screen Studio’s yearly plan is shown as $9 a month billed yearly. CleanShot X Pro is $10 per user a month billed yearly. Before tax.

The honest reading: against Screen Studio, CursorClip’s lifetime license costs less than one year of the yearly plan ($108), and over five years Screen Studio’s yearly plan comes to $540. A cheap yearly plan like Cap’s $29 stays below CursorClip’s price for at least two years, so if you only need a recorder for one short project, a subscription you cancel can cost less. If you record every month, the one-time license wins the longer you keep it. For the full Screen Studio maths, see what Screen Studio costs over 1 to 5 years.

Free to record and edit. To export: from $9/month, or $70 once with no renewal, plus tax where applicable.

Free to record and edit. A license to export.

What “lifetime” actually covers

“Pay once” is the headline. The line under it is where these licenses differ.

  • How long updates last. CursorClip includes future updates to the core app, so the version you buy keeps improving. Screen Charm and AutoZoom say all future updates are included. CleanShot X Basic includes one year, and after that you keep your version or renew at $19 a year. FocuSee’s one-time plan is “lifetime access” to version 2.x; the next major version costs extra.
  • How many Macs. CursorClip activates on up to three Macs at the same time, so a desktop, a laptop and a spare all work on one license. Screen Charm and ScreenKite Pro also cover three Macs. CleanShot X Basic covers one Mac, and Cap’s license is per user.
  • What happens without the internet. A CursorClip license works offline after a one-time activation and lives on your Mac, so the copy you own keeps working even if the company behind it stops. Cap also says its license works fully offline.
  • The refund window. CursorClip and Screen Charm give 14 days, CleanShot X 30 days and FocuSee 60 days on its one-time plan. The others don’t state a window on the page we read.
  • Mac or Windows. CursorClip, CleanShot X, Screen Charm and ScreenKite are Mac apps. AutoZoom, Cursorful Pro and FocuSee licenses cover Windows too, which matters if you switch machines.

The picks, one by one

CursorClip: pay once, three Macs, zooms from your clicks

$70 once, no renewal, on up to three Macs. CursorClip is a native Mac recorder that zooms in on what you click while you record, so a recording is close to finished when you stop. You trim, cut, change speed and adjust any zoom point on one timeline. It has a teleprompter, camera layouts (screen, camera, side by side and more), records system audio and your mic, and exports up to 4K. Captions, blur and share links arrive in the next release.

  • Try first: free to record and edit with no account. A license is only needed to export.
  • Limits, plainly: Mac only, macOS 13.5 or later, Apple silicon and Intel. It is not a multi-track editor and cannot open videos it did not record.
  • Also: a $29 yearly plan exists for people who prefer it, but nothing pushes you onto it.

See CursorClip pricing

CleanShot X Basic: the lowest one-time price

$35 once for one Mac, with one year of updates. CleanShot X is a screenshot and annotation app first, and since version 5.0 its Studio Mode adds automatic zooms to recordings. If screenshots are your main job and recordings are short, it is the best value here. Updates after the first year are $19 a year, and you need more seats for more Macs. Full comparison: CleanShot X alternatives for Mac.

Cap: a $58 license that never renews

$58 once, or $29 a year. Cap is open source, with an editor and Mac downloads for Apple silicon and Intel (plus a Windows beta). One license is for one user and works offline. Cap’s pricing page doesn’t say how long updates last or what the refund window is. If price is the deciding factor and you want an editor in the same app, it is a strong pick.

AutoZoom: $69 for three devices

$69 once, or $7.99 a month. AutoZoom adds automatic zooms, click visuals and motion blur, and it runs on both Mac (macOS 10.15 or later) and Windows. One license covers up to three devices at once, with all future updates. Of the licenses that also cover Windows, it is the cheapest for three devices.

Cursorful Pro: one payment for a browser extension and desktop apps

$79 once during its V2 launch discount ($9 more than CursorClip while the discount lasts). Cursorful’s free Chrome extension records browser tabs; Pro adds Mac and Windows desktop apps on two devices for one user, commercial use and cloud storage. Watch the regular price: Cursorful lists $119 with $40 off for its launch. More: Cursorful alternative for Mac.

Screen Charm: lifetime updates on three Macs

$99 once, $29 more than CursorClip. Screen Charm sells one plan: a one-time purchase with lifetime updates on up to three Macs and a 14-day refund. Its page shows $149 as the regular price with $50 off for the first 1,500 customers. Side by side: CursorClip vs Screen Charm.

ScreenKite Pro: three Macs, $99.99 after the founder price

$99.99 once for 3 Macs. On 27 October ScreenKite’s page showed a $79.99 founder price “until Oct 31, 2026, then $99.99”, with a 14-day refund. Check its page for the price on the day you buy. ScreenKite also sells a cheaper regional Essential tier for one Mac. Side by side: CursorClip vs ScreenKite.

ScreenFlow: the long-running pay-once editor

$199 once. ScreenFlow records and edits in one app, with a full multi-track timeline, and runs on Apple silicon and Intel Macs on macOS Sonoma and Sequoia per its store page. The Super Pak bundles add a stock media library at $99 a year after the first. If you need real timeline editing and want to pay once, this is the established choice.

FocuSee Advanced: five computers, one major version

$199.99 once for up to five computers, Mac or Windows. FocuSee’s one-time plan is the most expensive here but covers the most machines and has a 60-day refund. It is lifetime access to version 2.x; the next major version is a paid upgrade. More: FocuSee alternative for Mac.

Mac recorders you cannot buy once

November offers

Checked 27 October 2026 on each vendor’s own site.

  • Cap: no November deal shown. Students get 30% off.
  • CleanShot X: no November deal shown. Students get 30% off; PixelSnap 2 owners get 20% off.
  • Screen Studio: no November deal shown. Students and educators get 40% off.
  • Screen Charm: no November deal shown. Its standing launch offer is $50 off for the first 1,500 customers.
  • ScreenKite: no November deal shown. Its page said the $79.99 founder price was set to end on 31 October, then $99.99.
  • Cursorful: no November deal shown. Its “V2 launch” discount of $40 is running now.
  • AutoZoom, FocuSee, ScreenFlow: no November deal shown on their pricing pages.

How to choose

  • You want the lowest price and record now and then: CleanShot X Basic or Cap.
  • You record demos, tutorials or product videos every month, on more than one Mac: CursorClip. One payment, three Macs, updates included, and zooms placed from your clicks as you record.
  • You need Windows as well as Mac: AutoZoom, Cursorful Pro or FocuSee.
  • You need a full multi-track editor and will pay more for it: ScreenFlow.
  • You edit footage that isn’t a screen recording: see our list of simple video editors for Mac, including the ones you can buy once.

For the wider field, including recorders that are subscription only, see the 13 best screen recorders for Mac, or put eleven of them side by side in our Mac screen recorder comparison table.

Verdict

Paying once for a Mac screen recorder is still easy in 2026; the differences are in the small print. CleanShot X Basic and Cap cost less, and for occasional recording they are the better buy. CursorClip is $70 once for three Macs with core-app updates included, free to record and edit before you pay, and a 14-day refund if it is not right for you.

Free to record and edit. To export: from $9/month, or $70 once with no renewal, plus tax where applicable.

Free to record and edit. A license to export.

Keep reading

Related articles