One decision sorts this whole page. If you stream, keep OBS. If you record, these are better.
OBS Studio is not a bad tool. It is the wrong tool for making a polished recording, and it never claimed to be that tool. For a Mac screen recording that has to look finished, the picks are:
- CursorClip for zooms placed from your clicks, paid once, on up to three Macs.
- Screen Studio for a wide set of automatic polish, if a subscription suits you.
- CleanShot X for the lowest one-time price on this page, now with automatic zooms in its editor.
- Cap for open source and a free editor for personal use.
- Camtasia for structured training with a full timeline, plus automatic zoom through SmartFocus.
- Loom if hosting and sharing are the actual job.
- QuickTime Player when you just need the file.
Scope: macOS only, screen recording only. Every vendor fact on this page was checked on 2 October 2026.
What OBS does better
Before the alternatives, the concessions. Each one comes from OBS’s own site.
- Multi-scene composition. OBS builds scenes from many sources, including window captures, images, text, browser windows, webcams and capture cards, and lets you “set up an unlimited number of scenes”. Nothing else on this page comes close.
- Per-source audio filters. Its audio mixer has per-source filters such as noise gate, noise suppression and gain, plus VST plugin support. No other tool on this page claims VST support on the pages we checked.
- Streaming. OBS says it supports all your favorite streaming platforms. That is its home turf.
- Free and open source, under the GNU General Public License v2 or any later version. No paid tier, no watermark and no recording or export limit is stated anywhere on its site.
- Cross platform. macOS, Windows 10 and 11, and Linux. Cap is the only other tool here that claims all three.
If any of those five is your job, stop reading and keep OBS. Everything below is for the other job.
Quick comparison table
Every cell is the vendor’s own stated position on 2 October 2026, except the Electron notes, which come from each vendor’s own download and update files. “Not stated” means the vendor makes no such claim on the pages we checked. It does not mean the feature is impossible.
| Tool | Best for | Platforms | Auto-zoom claimed | Cursor or click emphasis | System audio | Built-in editor | Price as stated | Bad fit |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| CursorClip | Readable UI without placing zooms by hand | macOS 13.5+ only | Yes, from your clicks, each zoom editable | Yes, cursor styles and size, click ripples, keyboard-shortcut overlays | Yes, with mic | Yes, its own recordings only | $70 once, or $29/yr | Streaming, Windows, editing files it did not record |
| OBS Studio | Streaming and multi-scene production | macOS 13.0+, Windows, Linux | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, macOS Audio Capture Source on macOS 13+ | Not stated | Free, GPL v2 | A polished recording with no editing stage |
| Screen Studio | Automatic polish plus transcript editing | macOS only, 13.1 recommended, built on Electron | Yes | Yes, smoothing, click effects, cursor size after recording | Yes | Yes, including transcript editing | $29/mo billed monthly, or $9/mo billed yearly | Anyone avoiding a subscription |
| CleanShot X | Lowest one-time price here | macOS 13.0+ only | Yes, in Studio Mode | Yes, click highlights and keystrokes | Yes | Yes, Studio Mode | $35 once (Basic) | Windows, multi-track timeline work |
| Cap | Open source with a free editor | macOS, Windows, Linux | Yes | Yes, smoothing and click effects | Toggle shown in its recorder | Yes, Studio Mode | Free for personal use; $58 once or $29/yr for commercial use | Commercial work on the free tier |
| Camtasia | Courses and structured training | macOS 14.0+, Windows | Yes, SmartFocus, on Camtasia Recorder (.trec) recordings | Yes, cursor smoothing and path editing | Yes, on its own track | Yes, multitrack timeline | From $179.88/yr for a watermark-free plan (US) | Quick recordings, tight budgets |
| Loom | Hosting, sharing and viewers | Mac, Windows, iOS, Android; desktop app built on Electron | Not stated | Not stated | Yes, listed on every plan | Basic waveform editing on Business | $0 Starter; Business $180/user/yr or $18/user/mo | Local-first craft work |
| QuickTime Player | The file, right now, free | Ships with macOS | Not stated | Pointer and clicks option | Not stated | Trim, split, rearrange, rotate | No price stated | Anything that needs polish |
Why Mac users go looking for an OBS alternative
Two reasons come from OBS’s own site. One is our opinion, and it is labeled as such.
No editor. OBS claims one nowhere. Its README describes software for “capturing, compositing, encoding, recording, and streaming video content”, and that list stops before post-production. Your recording lands as a file and the trim happens elsewhere.
No automatic zoom and no cursor emphasis. Neither is claimed on any OBS page we checked. For a tutorial where the viewer has to read a 12-pixel menu item, that is the whole problem, and it is why the auto-zoom scorecard below exists.
Our opinion, not a vendor fact. The setup is front-loaded. Scenes and sources are the right model for a live broadcast and an odd first step for a 60-second recording of one window.
Not a reason: your Mac. OBS 32.2.2 runs on macOS 13.0 or newer, on Intel and Apple silicon. That is a lower floor than CursorClip’s macOS 13.5 and Camtasia’s macOS 14.0. On macOS 13 Ventura and later, OBS 30 and newer record system audio through the built-in macOS Audio Capture Source, with no extra driver.
How to compare these yourself in one afternoon
We have not run a controlled bake-off, and we will not publish scores we did not produce. Here is the method, so you can run it on your own workflow, which is the only test whose result applies to you.
Pick one real 60-second task in one app. Keep the same window size, display, narration and export target for every tool. Record it with OBS, with QuickTime, and with two of the polished recorders, then note five things:
- Minutes from launch to first frame recorded. Count the configuration, not the recording.
- Whether the smallest UI element is readable at phone playback size, without you adding a single zoom by hand.
- What the cursor does on a fast diagonal move: guidance, or jitter.
- What editing is possible without leaving the app, and whether you needed it.
- The export: duration, resolution, frame rate, codec, audio tracks and file size.
That last row is where most comparison pages stop, and it decides whether the file is publishable.
The seven, tool by tool
1. CursorClip
Verdict: the pick when your UI is too small to read, you do not want to place a zoom for every click, and you would rather pay once.
CursorClip generates zooms from your click events, and you can add, remove or retime every zoom point in the editor. The automatic pass is a starting point you can correct, not a result you have to accept.
It records your screen with system audio and microphone, plus your webcam. Version 2.0 added five layouts (screen, camera, picture-in-picture, side by side and stacked), with Cut, Fade and Morph transitions between them. It also added cursor styles and click ripples, keyboard-shortcut overlays and motion blur. 4K and 60fps are available as export presets. The recording frame rate is limited by your display refresh and capture size, and with system audio and microphone together at 5.5 megapixels or more it drops to 30fps. The webcam records at a medium quality setting. GIF export is limited to recordings under 10 minutes.
It is a native Mac app, and your recordings never leave your Mac.
Price: $70 once, for up to three Macs, and it never renews. If you would rather start smaller, the yearly plan is $29. Recording and editing are free with no account and no time limit, and you pay only to export. Every plan has a 14-day money-back guarantee. It runs on macOS 13.5 Ventura or later, on Intel and Apple silicon.
Bad fit: streaming, Windows, and any video it did not record. The full list is in Where CursorClip is the wrong choice.
2. Screen Studio
Verdict: automatic zoom, cursor smoothing, transcript editing and captions in one app, on a subscription.
Screen Studio says it looks at what you did while recording, such as where you clicked, and “zooms in on the moments that matter”. It smooths shaky cursor movement into a steady glide, adds click effects, and lets you change the cursor’s size and style after recording.
It records your display, a window or an area, with your webcam, microphone and your Mac’s sound, and it records iPhone and iPad screens over USB inside a device frame. You can edit by transcript, clear filler words and long pauses, add captions, and switch between camera and screen layouts. It exports MP4 in 720p, 1080p or 4K at up to 60fps, and GIFs up to 1080p.
Screen Studio is built on Electron. The update archive linked from its download page contains Electron Framework, Squirrel and an app.asar bundle, checked 2 October 2026. It offers separate downloads for Apple silicon and Intel Macs.
Price: $29 a month billed monthly, or $9 a month billed yearly, with every feature in both plans. One-time licenses are no longer sold to new buyers, though older ones stay valid. Students and educators get 40% off. Screen Studio recommends macOS 13.1 or later, and says it has no near-future plans for Windows. Its download page says that without an active plan you can use every feature except exporting, and its terms of service say “Fees are non-refundable”. Sources: screen.studio, its download page and its terms, checked 2 October 2026.
Bad fit: anyone avoiding a recurring bill, and anyone on Windows.
3. CleanShot X
Verdict: the lowest one-time price on this page, and since version 5.0 it includes automatic zooms.
CleanShot X is a screenshot tool first. Version 5.0 added Studio Mode, a video editor. Its homepage describes “automatically generated smooth zooms”, and its recording page describes smart zooms that follow your cursor, cursor smoothing, motion blur and trimming. While recording it highlights your clicks automatically, shows keystrokes, adds a camera bubble, records microphone and system audio, and can turn on Do Not Disturb. It exports MP4 or GIF. Scrolling capture, text recognition and annotation come with it.
Price: CleanShot Basic is $35 once. That buys the Mac app, one year of updates and 1 GB of cloud storage, with an optional renewal at $19 a year if you want updates after the first year. CleanShot Pro is $10 per user a month billed yearly, or $12 billed monthly, and adds unlimited cloud storage and team features. There is no trial, but there is a 30-day money-back guarantee, and Setapp offers a 7-day trial. Students get 30% off. It needs macOS 13.0 or newer, and there is no Windows version. Source: cleanshot.com/pricing, checked 2 October 2026.
This is cheaper than CursorClip, and we will not pretend otherwise. $35 once against $70 once. If click highlights, a trim and automatic zooms on one Mac are the whole job, CleanShot X is the better buy, and you get its screenshot tools too. CursorClip’s case is narrower. You can record and edit in it for free before paying, its zooms come from your clicks and stay editable point by point, and one license covers three Macs.
Bad fit: Windows users, and anyone who needs a multi-track timeline.
4. Cap
Verdict: the open-source option that, unlike OBS, ships an editor, and it now claims automatic zoom.
Cap says its editor smooths the cursor, adds click effects and motion blur, and “zooms in where the action is”. It records screen, camera and microphone to separate tracks, adds backgrounds and captions in its Studio Mode editor, and exports in 4K. Its Instant Mode makes shareable links while you record. Cap offers downloads for macOS on Apple silicon and Intel, with macOS 13.1 or newer recommended. It also ships for Windows, which its download page labels beta, and for Linux.
Price: free for personal use, with no time limit on local recordings and share links of up to 5 minutes. Commercial use needs the Desktop License, which costs $58 once or $29 a year, covers one user and works fully offline. Cap Pro adds unlimited cloud sharing, AI and team workspaces for $12 per user a month, or $8.16 a month billed yearly. Students get 30% off. Source: cap.so/pricing, checked 2 October 2026.
Cap’s $58 lifetime license is cheaper than CursorClip’s $70. If you are on Windows or Linux, or you want open source, Cap is the better fit.
Bad fit: commercial work on the free tier, which Cap limits to personal use.
5. Camtasia
Verdict: the one to pick when the deliverable is a course, not a clip.
TechSmith says Camtasia records screen, microphone, system audio and webcam on separate tracks, which makes one bad audio take fixable. Cursor work happens after recording, where you can smooth, resize or reposition the cursor. Automatic zoom comes from SmartFocus: record with Camtasia Recorder, which saves a .trec file that tracks cursor movement, scrolling and clicks, drag the SmartFocus effect onto that clip, and it adds zoom and pan animations you can adjust afterwards. TechSmith says SmartFocus is optimized for recordings longer than 30 seconds and suggests zooming shorter clips by hand. Quizzes, SCORM export, caption export and a multitrack timeline are what make it a training tool, and it runs on Windows and Mac.
The watermark line sits between the two cheapest plans. Starter’s Camtasia Editor is watermarked. Essentials is the first plan that exports without one, and it adds text-based editing, filler word removal, captions, quizzes and SCORM. Create and Pro add AI scripts, voices, avatars, translation and stock media.
Price: for a US buyer on 2 October 2026, TechSmith’s checkout charged $39.00 a year for Starter, $179.88 for Essentials, $249.00 for Create and $599.00 for Pro. Every plan is billed yearly, and there is no monthly option. TechSmith’s own store sells no perpetual license. The Mac App Store still sells Camtasia 2024 once for $199.99, but TechSmith ends support for that version on 31 December 2026. TechSmith sets prices by country, so outside the US read the price your own store page shows. Camtasia needs macOS 14.0 or later, higher than any other macOS minimum quoted on this page. The full breakdown, including business and education rates, is in our Camtasia pricing guide.
Bad fit: a 90-second demo. You will spend longer in the timeline than the video lasts.
6. Loom
Verdict: the odd one out, deliberately. Most of what you pay Loom for is hosting, sharing and viewers, not the recording.
The free Starter plan allows 25 videos per person, 5-minute recordings, quality up to 720p and up to 50 members. Business removes the video and length limits, raises quality to 4K, removes Loom branding, allows upload and download, and adds basic waveform editing. Business + AI adds advanced editing and AI features. Enterprise adds SSO, SCIM, a Salesforce integration and a 99.95% uptime SLA. System audio is listed on every plan. Neither automatic zoom nor cursor emphasis is claimed on the pricing page.
Loom’s desktop app is built on Electron. Its Mac update feed, packages.loom.com/desktop-packages/latest-mac.yml, is an electron-builder release manifest listing version 0.379.4, released 1 October 2026 and checked 2 October 2026.
Price: Starter is $0. Business is $180 per user a year billed yearly, or $18 per user a month billed monthly. Business + AI is $240 per user a year, or $24 per user a month. Enterprise is priced by sales. Loom offers a 14-day free trial of Business + AI. Per user is the structural difference from everything else here: a second person doubles the bill. Loom runs on Mac, Windows, iOS and Android. Source: loom.com/pricing, checked 2 October 2026.
Bad fit: craft. If the video has to look designed, Loom is not where that happens.
7. QuickTime Player
Verdict: already installed, and good enough for a raw capture.
QuickTime ships with macOS, and Apple states no price for it. Recording starts with File, New Screen Recording, which on current macOS opens the Screenshot toolbar rather than recording in QuickTime’s own window. That handoff surprises people, and it is how Apple describes it.
Editing is real but minimal. Apple lists “common movie edits like trim, rearrange and rotate”, plus splitting a movie into clips. Cursor emphasis exists at the smallest scale: Screenshot’s Options let you include the pointer or clicks in the recording. That is pointer visibility, not zoom.
System audio is the important gap. Apple’s QuickTime audio recording page documents choosing a microphone only, and nowhere in the guide does Apple say QuickTime can record your Mac’s own sound. Plan for a workaround, not a setting.
Bad fit: anything where the recording has to look designed.
Auto-zoom scorecard
This is the comparison that decides whether a tutorial is readable on a phone. First-party claims only.
| Tool | Automatic zoom claimed | What the vendor says about zoom and the cursor |
|---|---|---|
| CursorClip | Yes | Zooms generated from your click events; each zoom point can be added, removed or retimed in the editor |
| Screen Studio | Yes | Looks at where you clicked and “zooms in on the moments that matter”; smooths shaky cursor movement |
| Cap | Yes | Smooths the cursor, adds click effects and motion blur, and “zooms in where the action is” |
| CleanShot X | Yes, in Studio Mode | ”Automatically generated smooth zooms”; smart zooms that follow your cursor |
| Camtasia | Yes, with SmartFocus | SmartFocus adds zoom and pan animations from the cursor movement, clicks and scrolling in a Camtasia Recorder (.trec) recording, and each point can be adjusted; cursor smoothing and path editing after recording |
| QuickTime Player | No | Screenshot’s Options can include the pointer or clicks |
| OBS Studio | No | No cursor or zoom claim on any page we checked |
| Loom | No | Nothing on the pricing page |
A 1440p recording of a settings panel, watched on a phone, is unreadable unless something enlarges the part you are pointing at. You can do that by hand in any timeline editor, once per click. Or the tool can do it for you. Five tools here claim to. That is the gap between them and OBS, and it is why “OBS plus an editor” is not the free answer it looks like. CursorClip’s approach is to place each zoom from a click and let you retime it. More on the mechanics in how cursor-aware zoom works.
Three-year cost of ownership
One user, three years. Every total below is our arithmetic on the vendor’s stated price, not a figure any vendor prints. Prices checked 2 October 2026, before tax.
| Tool | Vendor’s stated price | Three-year total (our arithmetic) |
|---|---|---|
| OBS Studio | Free, GPL v2 | $0 |
| QuickTime Player | Ships with macOS, no price stated | No price stated |
| CleanShot X Basic | $35 once, optional $19 a year for updates after year one | $35 if never renewed, $73 if renewed every year |
| Cap Desktop License | $58 once, or $29 a year | $58 once, or $87 on the yearly plan |
| CursorClip | $70 once, or $29 a year | $70 once, or $87 on the yearly plan |
| Camtasia Essentials (US) | $179.88 a year | $539.64 |
| Loom Business | $180 per user a year, or $18 per user a month | $540, or $648 billed monthly |
| Screen Studio | $9 a month billed yearly, or $29 a month | $324, or $1,044 billed monthly |
For a run of one or two years, CursorClip’s $29 yearly plan is the cheaper route into the same app: $29 for one year, $58 for two. From year three the $70 license is cheaper, and it stops charging.
Two things stand out. First, CursorClip is not the cheapest one-time option here. CleanShot X Basic at $35 and Cap’s lifetime license at $58 both cost less, and both now claim automatic zoom. What the extra $12 to $35 buys is a license that covers three Macs. You can also record and edit in CursorClip free, with no account, before you pay to export, while CleanShot X has no trial of its own, only a refund window, unless you get it through Setapp. Whether CursorClip’s click-placed zooms suit your recordings better than theirs is something to test, not to take from us. Second, the gap between paying once and subscribing is wide: $35 to $87 against $324 to $1,044 for Screen Studio over the same three years, with OBS at zero throughout.
Choose by job
- You just need the file. QuickTime Player. It is installed, it costs nothing, and it will not slow you down. Expect to solve system audio separately.
- A short demo that has to look tidy, for the least money. CleanShot X at $35 once, for click and keystroke highlights, automatic zooms in Studio Mode, and its screenshot tools.
- A tutorial where small UI has to stay readable. CursorClip, Screen Studio, Cap, CleanShot X or Camtasia, the five that claim automatic zoom. Pick CursorClip for zooms placed from your clicks and one payment for three Macs. Pick Screen Studio for transcript editing and captions in the same app if a subscription is fine. Pick Cap for open source, Windows or Linux. Pick Camtasia if you also need its multitrack timeline and course tools.
- A structured course with quizzes and captions. Camtasia, at Essentials or above, because Starter watermarks exports.
- Async updates your team watches and comments on. Loom. The recording is the least interesting part of what you are paying for, and that is fine.
- Live streaming, multi-scene mixing or per-source audio filters. OBS Studio. Nothing on this page replaces it.
Where CursorClip is the wrong choice
Here are the cases where you should buy something else on this page.
- You want to stream, mix multiple scenes, or push to a streaming platform. CursorClip does none of that. Keep OBS.
- You want automatic zoom for less money. CleanShot X Basic is $35 once and Cap’s lifetime license is $58. CursorClip is $70.
- You need free and open source, permanently. OBS, or Cap’s free tier for personal use. CursorClip records and edits free with no account, but export needs a license.
- You are on Windows or Linux. CursorClip is macOS only, 13.5 Ventura or later. OBS and Cap cover all three platforms.
- You need a multi-track timeline, closed captions, quizzes or SCORM. Camtasia, and no price advantage substitutes for that.
- Your job is hosting, viewer analytics and team comments. Loom.
- You already have a video file and want to edit it. This is the big one. CursorClip cannot open a video it did not record. It opens only its own recording projects. If you have footage sitting in Downloads, use QuickTime, iMovie or a full editor, and our own guide to editing a screen recording on a Mac leads with Apple’s free tools for exactly that reason. CursorClip only helps with your next recording, by making it need less editing.
- You want per-source audio filters, a noise gate, or VST plugins. OBS, clearly.
- You want screenshot-first capture, scrolling capture or text recognition. CleanShot X.
For the wider field beyond OBS replacements, see the broader Mac recorder roundup. For a Screen Studio focused view, see the Screen Studio alternatives comparison. If tutorials are the job, start with how to make tutorial videos on a Mac, and if Camtasia is on your list, read what Camtasia actually costs.
FAQ
Is there a Mac version of OBS?
Yes. OBS Studio 32.2.2 ships separate macOS installers for Intel (x86_64) and Apple silicon (arm64), and both its homepage and its download page say it supports macOS 13.0 or newer. On macOS 12 Monterey the last compatible release is OBS 32.1.2, which OBS lists as no longer supported. Checked 2 October 2026.
What is the best free OBS alternative for Mac?
QuickTime Player for zero setup, because it ships with macOS. Cap if you want a free editor: Cap says it is free for personal use with no time limit on local recordings, includes its Studio Mode editor and 4K/60fps export, and limits free share links to 5 minutes. Commercial use needs a paid Cap license. Checked 2 October 2026.
Is OBS good for simple screen recording on a Mac?
It records a Mac screen well, with no time limit, no watermark and no price. The friction is that OBS is built around scenes and sources for live production, so even a simple recording starts with building a scene, and its site claims no editor and no automatic zoom.
Can OBS edit videos after recording?
No editor is claimed anywhere on obsproject.com. OBS describes itself as software for capturing, compositing, encoding, recording and streaming, and nothing on its site claims a timeline, trimming or post-production. You record with OBS and edit somewhere else. Checked 2 October 2026.
Which OBS alternative has auto-zoom?
Five tools on this page claim automatic zoom: CursorClip, Screen Studio, Cap, CleanShot X in its Studio Mode editor, and Camtasia through its SmartFocus effect. CursorClip places zooms from your click events, and you can add, remove or retime each one. SmartFocus works on recordings made with Camtasia Recorder, and you can adjust its zoom and pan points afterwards. OBS, Loom and QuickTime Player claim no automatic zoom. Checked 2 October 2026.
Is OBS still the best for streaming?
For most people, yes, and nothing on this page argues otherwise. OBS says it supports all your favorite streaming platforms, lets you set up an unlimited number of scenes, and has an audio mixer with per-source filters and VST plugin support. It is free, open source under GPL v2, and runs on macOS, Windows and Linux.
Sources and dates
Every competitor price and capability here comes from the vendor’s own pages, checked on 2 October 2026: obsproject.com (homepage, download page, and the macOS versions and macOS audio capture knowledge base articles) and the OBS Studio README on GitHub; screen.studio (homepage, download page, terms of service and the update archive linked from the download page); cleanshot.com (homepage, recording features and pricing); cap.so (homepage, download, FAQ and pricing); TechSmith’s Camtasia store, product page, SmartFocus page, animations tutorial, system requirements and US checkout, and its Mac App Store listing for Camtasia 2024; loom.com/pricing and Loom’s desktop update feed; and Apple’s QuickTime Player User Guide. CursorClip’s capabilities come from its own source code and pricing page.
Prices move and vendors localize. TechSmith sets Camtasia prices by country, so check your own store page before budgeting. Where a vendor states nothing, this page says “not stated” rather than guessing, and no price here was taken from an aggregator or review site.
Test one real workflow before you choose your OBS replacement. With CursorClip, recording and editing are free with no account, and every plan has a 14-day money-back guarantee.